Second Still Life shoot [20/03/14]

My second still life shoot when really well; I managed to set up my studio space and I worked along with one other person – who was also doing still life, this was great so we helped each other out and also learn from each other.

The idea was I was going to make images of the same bunch of flowers over several shoots and show the flowers decaying over time.

Still life old 1

However after my shoot I think back to my first still life shoot, and I really liked how one of the images looked and I wanted to included the image of the flower in the glass bottle; both objects used in the image were borrowed from other people and both of the objects used in this shoot were old. This started to get me thinking of the rhyme used for brides; ‘something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue – it said if the bride wears these at her wedding, it is said to bring good luck.

I tried photographing the flowers without the vase; I don’t think they’ll go well together with what I had in mind (I want to have the flowers and a vase so they go together) however it does look nice.

Still Life old 2

I think this theme would make a very interesting theme; if I decided to do this I’ll need to get hold of a new vase/glass container (or newer than the old one) and some new flowers (there are some ‘spring’ flowers in my garden that I could use) for the rhyme theme, but again I quite liked the idea of photographing the same flowers over a period of time.

Leave a Reply

